Wednesday, 6 August 2014

Album Review; Origin - Omnipresent

Track Listing:

1. All Things Dead
2. Thrall:Fulcrum:Apex
3. Permanence
4. Manifest Desolate
5. The Absurdity Of What I Am
6. The Source Of Icon O
7. Continuum
8. Unattainable Zero
9. Redistribution Of Filth
10. Obsolescence
11. Malthusian Collapse
12. The Indiscriminate

It's safe to start of by stating that with 'Omnipresent', Origin did not want to fuck around all that much. This is their sixth album since their first full-length back in the year 2000, and as such, their renown as one of Technical Death Metal's leading bands does not require much explanation. The band have made an impressive career out of blast beats, growls and unstoppable guitar chops that have seen them amass a considerable following in the Metal Community.

The first clue that the album gives as to the confidence of its creators is in the thirty-six minute running time. Many of the songs come in around the two to three minute mark, and yet the band manages to showcase their understanding of their craft in a brutal, brash manner.

The argument of technicality against song writing doesn't apply to this album; as they are both given equal treatment. The destructive intensity of the music continuously threatens the sanity of the listener, but there are hooks, be they instrumental, rhythmic or vocal that keep everything grounded enough for songs like 'Manifest Desolate' to appeal to newer Origin listeners.

To say that each band member brings their A-game to the table is to state the obvious; Origin albums have always called for and delivered a consistently stratospheric level of musicianship that will keep existing fans more than happy to continue trying to figure out how to headbang to these songs, just listen to the album highlight 'The Absurdity Of What I Am' to see what I mean. There are also short instrumental interludes in the form of 'Permanence', 'Continuum' and 'Obsolescence' which offer a moment to catch your breath, even though the shredding doesn't really let up.

'Malthusian Collapse' is another stand out track on this album, due to many satisfying moments as far as the instrumental composition is concerned. In short; the riffs on this song are delicious to the ear. They are also well punctuated by the underlying drumming.

The production is occasionally the only thing that makes this album stumble. Granted, it's doubtlessly difficult to make all that chaotic noise come through crystal clear, and hell; maybe the band didn't want a polished sound, but there are brief moments where the music bends into a muddy, aural Picasso. It may be nit-picking, but it's a point nonetheless.

The greatest strength of this album is that the band don't seem to be trying too hard to impress everyone or prove anything. As already stated; they're not fucking around. The album contains all the hallmarks of a good Technical Death Metal record, and of a good Origin record for that matter. Origin are clearly a band that are very comfortable in their own skin, and while the music may make casual listener's heads explode, the initiated will be well satisfied with this staunch album.


No comments:

Post a Comment