Saturday, 13 September 2014

Album Review; Korpse - Korpse

Track listing;

1. By All Means Necessary
2. Persuasion
3. School's Out Shootout
4. Devil's Breath
5. Valuable Skills
6. Fireworks
7. More Funerals To Come
8. Complications

This is the self-titled debut album by Korpse; a four-piece Slamming Brutal Death Metal band from the Netherlands, and it's really exactly what you expect; Devourment influenced, heavy as Andre The Giant carrying a boulder and very D.I.Y. sounding in terms of production. Everything in the mix has the rough edges untouched by studio wizardry, making the overall sound of the album relatively grizzly and uncomfortable if not difficult to listen to, but since it's a Slam band, that's not necessarily a complaint.

The most obvious problem with this album is that each song sounds, well...the same! It's all big, crunching riffs, tinny drums and guttural vocals that leave any and all lyrical content completely unintelligible. The titles of some of the songs are clearly standard Death Metal fare, particularly the likes of 'School's Out Shootout' and 'More Funerals To Come'.

It's very clear that the four Dutchmen responsible for this torrent of aural abuse are skilled enough on their instruments, but there's a lack of imagination present in the material. Obviously, there is only so much you can do with such a brutal genre as this, and most of the best ideas have already been delivered by Dying Fetus, Devourment, Benighted and their likes. There are some good moments of speed here, some typically smothering Slam breakdowns, all delivered with an organic feel only made possible by honest musicianship rather than Pro-Tools.

Basically; if sheer brutality is your thing, this album will give you some kicks. The rest of us will probably grow bored rather quickly. There's not much present to warrant repeat listens very often. A decent, but too often generic lesson in modern Death Metal sickness.

Rating: 5/10

No comments:

Post a Comment