Wednesday, 12 August 2015

Album Review: Bunker 66 - 'Screaming Rock Believers'

Bunker 66 - Screaming Rock Believers
Released Via High Roller Records
Genre: Blackened Thrash Metal

Track Listing:

1. Seduce Me Tonight (Celtic Frost Cover)
2. Another Victim
3. Ghetto Dwellers
4. Screaming Rock Believers
5. On The Prowl
6. Cannons Of Satan
7. (She's Got) Demon Eyes
8. Rulin' Like A Tyrant
9. Nightdemon

Bunker 66 are a band with a lot of guts, considering they open by covering an unfavourable Celtic Frost song; ‘Seduce Me Tonight’. The band hits with a surprisingly improved take on the aforementioned song. The first original on the album is unfortunately inferior, leaning on one mediocre riff for far too long. There’s a very obvious Motorhead influence on show throughout this album, with simple riffs and blues-driven guitar solos, but the simplistic approach seems to have only served to dumb songs like ‘Ghetto Dwellers’ down as opposed to delivering much impact. The garbled gang vocals doesn’t help matters. The title track is catchy enough to get the toes tapping for a bit, even though it’s again too close to Motorhead at times, particularly the classic ‘The Chase Is Better Than The Catch’ which would be fine if this song was better than it. It isn’t. ‘On The Prowl’ has an opening riff that is close to ‘Damage Case’. By this point in the album, the similarities begin to frustrate, as does the production job on the record. The rhythm section sounds fine, but the guitar leads and the lead vocals constantly echo, rendering the lyrics on ‘Cannons Of Satan’ almost unintelligible. It really doesn’t say much for Bunker 66 when the best song on their second album is a cover song. This is a record that you could easily summarise as being utterly forgettable rubbish.

Rating: 1/10



No comments:

Post a Comment